Puddles and Wetbacks (#764)

Glorious rain overnight on December 10 ~ next morning, walking over to the indoor pool, I saw something strangely familiar but not seen for a long time ~ puddles.

Puddles of water left by the rainfall. What magical thoughts we have when we celebrate puddles!

I am slowly turning from all negative thought…..appreciating everything for what it is, looking for the lesson, the message.

Sometimes, many more than before, leaving things alone and enjoying the puddles!

A yearly guest, when I worked at Westport Beach in CA was a gentleman named Alfonso. He was perhaps in his 80s, tall, tan-skinned patriarch of his family.

He stopped in the little beach store, very first time I met him. Said, you know …..when I come to this country from Mexico, I swim across the Rio Grande to get here.

Yeah, okay, Alfonso. And he replied, No, really, I was a wetback.

Uh huh….sure, I said smiling.

He then told me, When I reached America a border guard was standing on the bank of the Rio. I thought for sure he was going to send me back to Mexico.

Okay (I’ll bite), so what happened then, Al?

The guard told me he would let me go if I could make a sentence using 3 words: Green, Pink and Yellow.

Really?

Yeah….so I thought a minute, and I thought some more; then I told him: The phone she ring, green, green, green and I pink it up and I say, Yellow? ~

Treasures all….our memories……sometimes it is a puddle left by a long-desired and much needed rain in the Sonoran Desert……

Sometimes, it is a nice, young octogenarian sharing a laugh ~

Cheers, annie

About TinCanTraveler

Born under a wand'rin' star.... living in my Winnebago, traveling the country, explorer/adventurer, photographer, writer, chi master, massage therapist, retired teacher/counselor, work camper. Appreciation for the freedom to do it all. Enjoying life's ultimate lessons of trust, respect, and grace.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Puddles and Wetbacks (#764)

  1. I love Alfonso’s story!

  2. Sherrill Parry says:

    Oh the characters you meet

  3. Alice says:

    What a wonderful memory, and a reminder that you never know how a few words from you might touch someone (for good OR bad) for the rest of their lives!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.