My Golden Hills Sojourn (#327)

Winter seems to be, of late, my time of volunteering.  I like to think of it as my way of “paying it forward.”

2013 began with a park volunteer position at Edisto Island in South Carolina.  My free time was spent walking along the shores of the Atlantic and among live oaks cascaded with Spanish moss.

I visited with descendants of the Gullah-Geechee who still keep the elements of their African culture alive and enjoyed warm sunny days in the middle of the winter.

This year I am spending some time in the golden hills on the central coast of California. Volunteering at a local park I am once again paying it forward.  In exchange I get a campsite and access once again to the richness of our land.

My Front Yard

My Front Yard  

My Golden Hills

My Golden Hills

 

My Little Quail Friends

My Little Quail Friends

 

Our Native Americans so in tune with Mother Nature; so gifted with words

Our Native Americans, so in tune with Mother Nature

 

Ever Grateful,

Annie

 

About TinCanTraveler

I was born under a wandering star.... living in my Tin Can Cottage, traveling the country, explorer /adventurer, photographer, writer, chi energist, lifelong learner, massage therapist, past teacher & counselor, present work camper & volunteer. Grateful for the freedom to do it all. Enjoying life's ultimate lessons of trust, respect, and grace. Welcome, Friends!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to My Golden Hills Sojourn (#327)

  1. Sher says:

    Great pictures Anne. And thank you for the quail pictures. They are sure fat little birds. Envy your temperatures!

  2. Patti Kuche says:

    Wow Annie, golden sunshine – I think I need my sunglasses! Enjoy your time in that beautiful part of the world. Keep walking in beauty!

  3. Teresa says:

    I enjoyed this post emensly, especially the prayer. Safe travels.

  4. jakesprinter says:

    Beautiful place Ann.. Thanks for sharing :)

  5. Paula says:

    You couldn’t chose better sites for your volunteering jobs :) What does your job consist of exactly?

    • Nothing glamorous or exciting in the job itself. Some toll booth work, cleaning up litter, painting posts and clipping dead leaves off potted plants. But it affords me the opportunity to be outdoors, to help keep the park looking beautiful and enjoy giving back in a small but useful way.

  6. Edge of Chic says:

    So happy to see a picture of the quail! They sounded adorable in your previous post!

Leave a Reply

