Catching Up With The Bible Truck (#324)

My roving adventures on Christmas day took me from a Dwarf Palmetto forest at Palmetto State Park in Texas where I was thrilled to see and hear many bird species I am familiar with from Pennsylvania: Cardinals, Woodpeckers and the ever-raucous Crows,

Dwarf Palmetto trees at Palmetto State Park, Texas

Dwarf Palmetto trees at Palmetto State Park, Texas

 

Cactus Pears in the forest

Cactus Pears in the Palmetto forest

to an adventurous romp along Interstate 10 trying to catch up with a unique 18 wheeler that was just ahead of me.  I had my camera on my lap ready to snap a picture at the next red light.  There weren’t any!  The truck picked up speed and soon it was out of sight.  I sighed!  Oh well!

After several more miles I saw a sign for a rest area and decided I needed a break from the long road trip.  Pulling into the area, I saw it and yelled, the Bible Truck!!!

There it was!  This truck all covered in bible verse.  I’d found it.

Caught up with the "Bible Truck" at a Rest Stop along I-10

Catching up with the “Bible Truck” at a Rest Stop along I-10

 

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Tin Can Cottage and Bible Truck

 

The day got even better when I stopped for the evening at South Llano River State Park just north of San Antonio.  I met a wonderful creature.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

What is this strange creature scampering away from me?

 

It's the very first live Armadillo I have ever met!!!

It’s the very first live Armadillo I have ever met!!!

 

What a great Christmas day!  I hope all of you enjoyed your holidays with much warmth and love and maybe a wonderful surprise or two.

Ever Grateful,

Annie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About TinCanTraveler

I was born under a wandering star.... living full-time in my Tin Can Cottage, traveling the country, explorer /adventurer, photographer, writer, chi energist, lifelong learner, massage therapist, past teacher & counselor, present work camper & volunteer. Grateful for the freedom to do it all. Enjoying life's ultimate lessons of trust, respect, and grace. Welcome, Friends!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Catching Up With The Bible Truck (#324)

  1. Sher says:

    Wow what an adventure! And great pictures too. Love the truck and the armadillo. How many chances does one get to see a little creature like that. Happy safe travels Anne.

  2. nomaggsrush says:

    Sounds like a great day. All the best for 2014 Annie.

  3. Edge of Chic says:

    Love your photos! Yet another day filled with unique happenings. :)

  4. Alice says:

    What a wonderful Christmas and a delightful contrast to all your hard Amazon work!! May you be blessed with peace and wonder throughout the coming year. Lots of love to you!

  5. Sandy says:

    Great find on the bible truck…Drive safely!

  6. Paula says:

    You’ve met Armadillo :D This is so exciting Annie. Thank you for sharing :)

  7. Teresa says:

    Great adventures! Safe and curious travels in 2014.

  8. Loved your Christmas, Annie, in part because it cut through the stereotypes of what society says we need for a ‘successful’ Christmas- ie lots of family togetherness, elaborate food, and more stuff! Your encounters were wonderful, as was your openness to their wonder.
    This year’s Christmas was low key for us, I didn’t feel like putting up decorations, wasn’t in the spirit. My magical Christmas moment, as in most monets of the kind, was a gift, and was spent visiting a neighbor’s horses. One particular friend and I stood nose to nose communing for a long time ,and I felt full of lightness for the rest of the day.
    I also had a long walk along the canals in beautiful light.

    • I am so grateful to you, Sarah, for sharing your Christmas memories with me. What wonderful moments that catch our hearts forever. The canals sound delightful. Have you ever painted them? Or has your husband photographed them? Here’s to (glasses clinking) continued wondrous moments in the new year!

  9. Sun says:

    i would love to meet an armadillo! thanks for taking us on this exciting day of travel. what a blessing to be able to discover America – i love the photo with your TCCottage and the bible truck. cute. ☺

  10. The Bible semi was so inspirational….what a great find Annie!! Hope you have a glorious New Year.

  11. Connie T says:

    They say those cactus pear fruit are good to eat.

  12. Bams Triwoko says:

    Such a great adventure.. :)
    Have a wonderful year 2014.. Happy Holidays.

  13. Patti Kuche says:

    What a fantastic day Annie, the Bible truck and Armadillo all in one day and it was Christmas!

Leave a Reply

