Sweet Home Alabama (#322)

I always thought that “Sweet Home Alabama” was the theme for this state.  But it isn’t.  It’s  “Alabama The Beautiful.”  I say, “Meh!”  I rather like the first one better.

On the road again after a four month job at Amazon in Kentucky, I find myself passing through Alabama.  At Rickwood Caverns State Park in Warrior, Alabama I stop in at the office to pay for my overnight stay.

There, I am greeted by an orange ball of fluff.  Dancing around on her tiny feet with a big smile on her face is the camp dog, Penny the Pomeranian.  She lets out little yips of delight, begging to be petted and adored.

The ranger tells me she is blind (at only 7 years of age) and loves the attention she gets from the campers.  I bend down to pet her amazingly soft fur and of course, want to steal her away.

Maybe one of these days I will have a dog.  But today I relax with some wonderful Pennsylvania wine and look out on the forest and feel the deep silence of the Alabama wood.

Ever Grateful,

Annie

About TinCanTraveler

I was born under a wandering star.... living full-time in my Tin Can Cottage, traveling the country, explorer /adventurer, photographer, writer, chi energist, lifelong learner, massage therapist, past teacher & counselor, present work camper & volunteer. Grateful for the freedom to do it all. Enjoying life's ultimate lessons of trust, respect, and grace. Welcome, Friends!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sweet Home Alabama (#322)

  1. nomaggsrush says:

    Enjoy your rest – like the sound of the wine!

  2. Bill and Carol says:

    Merry Christmas, Annie! Give us a call if you come close to Hilton Head before the New Year. Wishing you many new marvels and adventures in 2014!

    • How wonderful to hear from you both! Merry Christmas, Bill and Carol! I am heading west so you won’t find me near SC this year. Enjoy your beachside rambles and hope to hear about your adventures in the new year!

  3. So glad you got through the 4 months of hard work and are back on the road again. Nice to hear the relaxation in this post, have fun,
    sarah

  4. Edge of Chic says:

    You always manage to find an adventure, no matter how big or small. Merry Christmas! :)

  5. Sandy says:

    If you travel thru southern WYO call me and maybe we can get together…

  6. Patti Kuche says:

    Sweet Home wherever you go Annie, you take it with you!

  7. Sun says:

    dogs are so wonderful to have around…i can see the little orange fluff jumping up in excitement!! happy weekend, Annie!! :P

Leave a Reply

